Polling Day

Polling Day has been set for Wednesday, 27 November 2019, when St Helena will go to the Polls to elect a new Member to fill the vacant seat on Legislative Council.

Candidates for the 2019 Bye-Election are:

  • Gillian Ann Brooks of Upper Cow Path, Half Tree Hollow
  • Jeffrey Robert Ellick of Police Quarters, Alarm Forest
  • Jeremy James Johns of Nr. Harlyn, Half Tree Hollow
  • Elizabeth Knipe of Perkins Gutt, Sandy Bay
  • Lionel George Williams of ‘Brenville’, Nr. Half Tree Hollow, St Paul’s

Only those named on the Register of Electors dated 18 October 2019 will be able to vote in the Bye-Election. Votes must be cast in the Electoral District in which the voter is registered.

On Polling Day, Polling Stations will be found at:

  • Blue Hill Community Centre
  • Half Tree Hollow Community Centre
  • Harford Community Centre
  • Kingshurst Community Centre
  • Levelwood Clinic
  • Jamestown Community Centre
  • Sandy Bay Community Centre
  • St Mary’s Church, the Briars

The electorate is reminded that if they are ill, physically incapacitated or off-Island, and cannot make it to the Polling Station on Polling Day, there is provision to vote by proxy.

To do so, permission must be obtained in advance from the Returning Officer, Carol George, at the Castle. To get permission, an application form must be completed and returned to the Returning Officer by no later than 10am on Monday, 25 November 2019. Any applications received after this time cannot be accepted.

Application forms can be obtained from the Castle Reception, Assistant Returning Officers, Gillian Francis and Anita Legg, or from the SHG Website at the following link: https://www.sainthelena.gov.sh/government/public-information/elections/

If a person wishes to vote by proxy, their proxy must be on the Register of Electors dated 18 October 2019 and in the same electoral district in which the voter is registered. An elector cannot be proxy for more than one person.

To inspect the Register of Electors you may contact the Returning Officer, Assistant Returning Officers or Assistant Registration Officers. Copies of the Register are also available at the Customer Services Centre, Public Library, rural sub-post offices and on the SHG website.

For more information, see insert in this week’s local newspapers.

#StHelena #LegislativeCouncil #Bye-Election #PollingDay

https://www.facebook.com/StHelenaGovt /  

18 November 2019

St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470
Email: communications@sainthelena.gov.sh