Legislative Council

The Legislature makes laws for the peace, order and good government of St Helena. The Legislature of St Helena consists of Her Majesty the Queen and the Legislature Council (Sec: 47 of the Constitution).

The Legislative Council consists of:

  • A Speaker
  • A deputy Speaker
  • Twelve Elected Members, and
  • Three (non-voting) Ex-Officios namely, the Chief Secretary, Financial Secretary and Attorney General.

Section 61 of the Constitution provides for meetings of the Legislative Council. Further details regarding the regulation and conduct of meetings are set out in the Standing Orders of the Legislative Council made in accordance with Section 68 of the Constitution. The St Helena Legislative Council endeavours to meet at least four times per year.

Sessional Papers are reports and papers which have been tabled ‘in the House’ (i.e. in Formal Legislative Council) and deposited with the Clerk of Councils. These papers include Bills for Ordinances, annual financial reports of St Helena Government and various other entities (e.g. the Saint Helena National Trust, St Helena Fisheries Corporation, etc), the Estimates, reports of the Public Accounts Committee, St Helena Audit Reports, etc. Once tabled, Sessional Papers become public documents.

You may also be interested in viewing Hansards, Order Papers or Election information.

To view the Ascension Island Council, click here.