Government Structure

The Public Service structure was implemented two years ago in April 2021, as part of a wider transformation programme, when St Helena Government moved from Directorates into larger ‘Portfolios’ to ensure a more streamlined structure, with services and functions that have a shared or similar purpose grouped together under one senior manager.

Recently in 2023 it was announced that as the functions of Treasury, Infrastructure & Sustainable Development (TI&SD) is particularly broad, Treasury would become a separate function and Economic Development (previously Sustainable Development) becoming a separate Portfolio.

There are now two support functions and five portfolios that exist within the organisation.

SHG Functions Structure