Governor Lisa Phillips has today issued the Writ of Election for the September 2016 Bye-election.

The Writ confirms the last day and time for receiving Nominations to elect a Member to fill the vacant seat on Legislative Council, which arises following the resignation of Nigel Dollery on 1 July 2016.

The last day and time for submitting nominations is 12 noon on Wednesday 24 August 2016. All nominations should be delivered before this time to the Returning Officer, Gillian Francis, at the Castle, Jamestown.

If more than one valid Nomination is received, a Poll will be taken on Wednesday 7 September 2016, at the following Polling Stations:

  • Blue Hill Community Centre
  • Half Tree Hollow Community Centre
  • Harford Community Centre
  • Judges Lodge, Alarm Forest
  • Kingshurst Community Centre
  • Levelwood Clinic
  • Jamestown Community Centre
  • Sandy Bay Community Centre

The public is reminded that to vote in the Bye-election or to stand as a Candidate for election to Legislative Council, your name must be on the Register of Electors printed in the Extraordinary Gazette Notice number 66, dated 1 July 2016.

Only those persons with their name on this Register will be eligible to participate in the Bye-election, with those who are 21 years of age and over being able to stand for election.

This Register can be viewed at the Customer Service Centre, the Public Library, the Agriculture & Natural Resources Office in Scotland, rural sub-Post Offices and from Assistant Registration Officers.  A copy is also available for viewing on the SHG website at and at the Administrator’s Office on Ascension Island.


18 July 2016


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470