The public is reminded that a Bye-election will take place on Wednesday 4 March 2015 when St Helena will go to the Polls to elect a new Member to fill the vacant seat on Legislative Council.

Candidates for the 2015 Bye-election are: Anthony Arthur Green of St Paul’s, Geoffrey Patrick George Knipe of Sandy Bay, Pamela Ward-Pearce of Longwood and Lionel George Williams of St Paul’s.

Polling stations will be at the Blue Hill Community Centre, Half Tree Hollow Clinic, Harford Community Centre, St Mary’s Church at the Briars, Kingshurst Community Centre, Levelwood Community Centre, Jamestown Community Centre, and Sandy Bay Community Centre.

Constituents in the Alarm Forest electoral district should note the change in venue for the Polling Station i.e. St Mary’s Church.

Only those named on the Register of Electors dated 4 February 2015 will be able to vote in the Bye-election and you must vote in the Polling District in which you are registered.

If on Polling Day you cannot make it to the Polling Station, you may vote by Proxy – providing you obtain advance permission from the Returning Officer, Gillian Francis, at the Castle.  To get permission you must complete the relevant form (available on the SHG website https://www.sainthelena.gov.sh/publications/) which must be handed to the Returning Officer by no later than 10am on Monday 2 March 2015 (any forms received after this time will not be valid).

If you are voting by Proxy on Polling Day, your Proxy must be on the current Register of Electors and in the same Polling District in which you are registered.

For Proxy forms or to inspect the current Register of Electors you may contact the Returning Officer, Assistant Returning Officers or Assistant Registration Officers.The names of these Officers were printed in newspapers dated 19 and 20 February 2015. Copies of the Register are also available at the Customer Service Centre, Public Library and on the SHG website.

Further information on Polling Day was published as an insert in last week’s newspapers.


24 February 2015



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470
Email: communications@sainthelena.gov.sh