The Provisional Register of Electors was published on Thursday, 10 May 2018.

Eligible persons now have up until next Thursday, 24 May 2018, to make application to amend the Register.

Persons who are eligible to have their names entered in the Register may apply to amend the Provisional Register to add or remove their name, remove the name of someone who has died or left the Island or who might be ineligible for inclusion in the Register, change an address or electoral district in which he/she will be allowed to vote or correct any other error. 

Persons eligible to be registered must:

  • Have St Helenian Status as defined in the Immigration Ordinance, 2011
  • Be 17 years of age or older with St Helena as their ordinary place of residence

 There are some exceptions, such as mental incapacity or someone serving a prison sentence of 12 months or more.

Spouses or life partners who do not have St Helenian Status whose names were included on the Register that was published in July 2017, will be protected by virtue of the transitional provision that was included in the Elections (Amendment) Ordinance, 2017. This protection will remain in place until 30 June 2020 provided that the person concerned continues to comply with the other requirements of the Elections Ordinance.

The Register is available on the SHG website via the following link: (please scroll down to the Extraordinary Gazettes section).

Hard copies have also been placed at the following locations:

  • Customer Service Centre, Jamestown
  • Public Library, Jamestown
  • ENRD Offices, Scotland
  • Rural sub Post Offices

Copies are also held by the Assistant Registration Officer at the Castle, Jamestown, and by Assistant Registration Officers in the different electoral districts as follows:

St Paul’s

Alfreda Yon

Jackie Moyce


Alicia Thomas

Douglas Bennett

Robert Essex

Olive Williams

Alarm Forest

Jane Augustus

Brenda Thomas

Sandy Bay

Anita Legg

Phyllis Coleman

Half Tree Hollow

Michelle Yon

Karen Yon

Connie Johnson


Pamela Joshua

Ronald Coleman

Blue Hill

Stedson Francis

Elizabeth March

Georgina Young


Christina Henry

Paula Moyce

The Assistant Registration Officer at the office of the Administrator, Ascension Island, will also hold a copy.

Applications using the prescribed form ‘A’ must be submitted to the Assistant Registration Officer, at the Castle by no later than 4pm on Thursday, 24 May 2018. Form ‘A’ is available on the SHG website: Copies are also available at the above locations.

Further information about registering and making amendments may be obtained from Registration Officer, Gillian Francis, at the Castle on tel:  22470 or via email:

The final Register of Electors for the year commencing 1 July 2018 will be published in June.

If your name is not on the Register of Electors you will not be able to stand or vote in any Bye-Election or General Election.  It is therefore your responsibility to check the Provisional Register and to make application to have your name included if it is not already listed.

#StHelena #ProvisionalRegisterOfElectors

14 May 2018

St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470