Anybody wishing to travel to St Helena must have a valid passport (that must remain valid for at least 6 months from the day of entry). Section 16A of the Immigration Ordinance, 2011 requires that persons travelling to St Helena on a passport from any of the countries listed below must obtain a visa before embarking on their journey to St Helena.

Afghanistan Ghana Palestinian Territory
Albania Guinea Peru
Algeria Guinea Bissau Philippines
Angola Guyana Qatar
Armenia Haiti Russia
Azerbaijan India Rwanda
Bahrain Indonesia Sao Tome e Principe
Bangladesh Iran Saudi Arabia
Belarus Iraq Senegal
Benin Ivory Coast Serbia
Bhutan Jamaica Sierra Leone
Bolivia Jordan Somalia
Bosnia Herzegovina Kazakhstan South Sudan
Burkina Faso Kenya Sri Lanka
Burma Korea (North) Sudan
Burundi Kosovo Surinam
Cambodia Kuwait Swaziland
Cameroon Kyrgyzstan Syria
Cape Verde Laos Taiwan
Central African Republic Lebanon Tajikistan
Chad Lesotho Tanzania
People’s Republic of China Liberia Thailand
Colombia Libya Togo
Comoros Macedonia Tunisia
Congo Madagascar Turkey
Cuba Malawi Turkmenistan
Democratic Republic of the Congo Mali Uganda
Djibouti Mauritania Ukraine
Dominican Republic Moldova United Arab Emirates
Ecuador Mongolia Uzbekistan
Egypt Montenegro Venezuela
Equatorial Guinea Morocco Vietnam
Eritrea Mozambique Yemen
Ethiopia Nepal Zambia
Fiji Niger Zimbabwe
Gabon Nigeria The territories formerly comprising the socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia
Gambia Oman
Georgia Pakistan

Visas are also required by the following:

  • Persons who hold passports or travel documents issued by the former Soviet Union or by the former Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia
  • Stateless persons
  • Persons travelling on any document other than a national passport, regardless of whether the document is issued by, or evidences nationality of, a state listed in the above table, except where that document has been issued by St Helena or the United Kingdom

This list can also be found in the Immigration Ordinance which is available on the SHG website at the following link:

Further information is also available on the Immigration page of the SHG website:

The E-Visa application website at is temporarily unavailable, undergoing further development work, and may be inaccurately advising people that they need a visa. We are aware of this problem, and soon expect the system to be fully operational. Should you wish to apply for a visa your enquiry should be directed to the St Helena Immigration Office via email:

Please be advised that the St Helena Immigration Service is working in conjunction with the Home Office UK Visa requirements, so if you require a visa to enter the UK you will need one to enter St Helena unless you are a South African national.

Visitors are advised that they must have the necessary visa or permits to cover all destinations they intend to travel to, including return trips through the UK, Ascension Island and/or South Africa. There are no foreign embassies or consulates on St Helena that issue visas, so all necessary visas must be obtained in advance.

#St Helena #Visa #Immigration

14 December 2017

St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470