The public is reminded that nominations for the first ever St Helena Care Awards will not be accepted after the deadline on Thursday, 14 September 2017.

There are eleven award categories available for nomination, representing all areas of the Social Care Sector – whether it be community, specialist services, residential or home care. These awards will pay tribute to those individuals who have demonstrated outstanding excellence within their field of work across the Social Care Sector.

Governor Lisa Phillips said:

“We all know people who are being cared for on St Helena, whether in the community, or through specialist services, in residential care, or at home. Care workers may be paid or may give their time voluntarily and often do very difficult jobs with little recognition of the commitment and dedication they put into the role. If you want to nominate someone for their excellence, please don’t hesitate to complete a nomination form.”

A list detailing all eleven award categories and their criteria can be found on the Publications page of the SHG Website at: Alternatively, hard copies, along with posters detailing how to make a nomination, can be found in various places of public interest including: The Castle, Public Library, Customer Service Centre and at Brick House in Jamestown. A description of each award category can be heard throughout the day on Saint FM Community Radio.

The Awards Night is scheduled to take place on Thursday, 28 September 2017, at Plantation House.

For more information or for assistance in making a nomination, contact David Vago on tel: 23343 or via email:

#StHelena #StHelenaCareAwards #Nominations

11 September 2017




St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470