Governor Lisa Phillips has today issued the Writ of Election, for this year’s General Election, to be held on Wednesday, 26 July.

The Writ confirms the last day and time for receiving Nominations to elect 12 new Members to sit on Legislative Council.

The last day and time for nominations is 12 noon on Wednesday, 12 July 2017 and all nominations should be delivered within this time to the Returning Officer, Mrs Gillian Francis, at the Castle, Jamestown.

If more than twelve nominations are received, a Poll will be taken on Wednesday, 26 July 2017, at the following Polling Stations:

  • Blue Hill Community Centre
  • Half Tree Hollow Community Centre
  • Harford Community Centre
  • Judges Lodge, Alarm Forest
  • Kingshurst Community Centre
  • Levelwood Clinic
  • Jamestown Community Centre
  • Sandy Bay Community Centre

The Register of Electors to be used in this year’s General Election has also been published today, for the year commencing 1 July 2017.

Only those persons with their name on this Register of Electors will be eligible to participate in the General Election, with those who are 21 years of age and over being able to stand for election.

#StHelena #GeneralElection2017 #WritOfElection

14 June 2017


St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470