Governor Capes has today issued the Writ of Election, for the 4 March Bye-election.

The Writ confirms the last day and time for receiving Nominations to elect a Member to fill the vacant seat on Legislative Council, following the resignation of Ian Rummery in January 2015.

The last day and time for nominations is 12 noon on Wednesday 18 February 2015 and all nominations should be delivered within this time to the Returning Officer, Mrs Gillian Francis, at the Castle, Jamestown.

If more than one valid nomination is received, a Poll will be taken on Wednesday 4 March 2015, at the following Polling Stations:

  • Blue Hill Community Centre
  • Half Tree Hollow Clinic
  • Harford Community Centre
  • St Mary’s Church, the Briars
  • Kingshurst Community Centre
  • Levelwood Community Centre
  • Jamestown Community Centre, and
  • Sandy Bay Community Centre

Persons in the Alarm Forest electoral district are asked to note the new venue for the Polling Station i.e. St Mary’s Church.

The Register of Electors is now being amended to take account of applications received and will be published in an Extraordinary Gazette later this week. This Register will be used in the Bye-election.

Only those persons with their name on the amended Register of Electors will be eligible to participate in the Bye-election, with those who are 21 years of age and over being able to stand for election.


3 February 2015





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470