On Tuesday 23 June 2015 – and after conducting an open and rigorous recruitment process – Acting Governor Sean Burns appointed a President of the St Helena Court of Appeal, together with three Justices of Appeal to the Court – under the 2009 Constitution of St Helena, Ascension & Tristan da Cunha.

The Constitution establishes a Supreme Court and a Court of Appeal for the Territories of St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha.  Although three separate Territories, they are one territorial grouping under the Crown, so the same Supreme Court and Court of Appeal preside over all three Territories.

The Supreme Court is presided over by the Chief Justice who is responsible for the administration of justice in all three Territories and who also sits as a Recorder in England.

The Court of Appeal has jurisdiction to hear and determine appeals from the courts of St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha.  Appeals normally lie to the Court of Appeal from the Supreme Court on questions of law or with the leave of the Supreme Court from cases where it has exercised its criminal, civil or appellate jurisdiction.

Appeals may also be heard on questions of general or public importance or where the Court of Appeal grants leave.

On 23 June 2015, and with immediate effect, the following persons were appointed to the St Helena Court of Appeal:

  • Sir John Henry Boulton Saunders, as President of the Court of Appeal
  • His Honour Judge Michael Paul Yelton, as Justice of Appeal
  • His Honour Judge Rupert Mayo, as Justice of Appeal, and
  • Ms Lorna Alison Drummond, as Justice of Appeal.


30 June 2015

St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470