Further to the press release of 12 October 2015 on the forthcoming St Helena Media Review, please note that Chief Secretary Roy Burke has replaced Niall O’Keeffe on the Sub-committee which will carry out the review of current media services on St Helena.

The Sub-committee’s membership is thus as follows:

  • Councillor Pamela Ward Pearce (Chair)
  • Joan Peters
  • Roy Burke 
  • Thomas Holvey
  • Ethel Yon OBE

The group will call in additional attendees and members of the Island’s media organisations as appropriate to draw on local expertise – seeking information and views on the current media services provided on St Helena.


4 December 2015



  1. Does this committee have the remit to include a review of the Internet provision on the island?
    I would be interested to know what service comparisons are available with other ‘remote’ islands in terms of cost and speed; what service improvement kpi’s are in place and the view of the committee on how the current provision is impacting on the development of the islands youth.

    • Dear Martin – the Media review Committee does not have the remit to review Internet provision on St Helena.

Comments are closed.