Governor Issues Writ of Election for 2019 Bye-Election

Governor Dr Philip Rushbrook has today issued the Writ of Election for the upcoming Bye-election to be held on Wednesday, 27 November 2019.

The Writ confirms the last day and time for receiving Nominations to elect a new Member to fill the vacant seat on Legislative Council.

The last day and time for receiving nominations is 12 noon on Wednesday, 13 November 2019, and all nominations should be delivered within this time to the Returning Officer, Mrs Carol George, at the Castle, Jamestown.

Nomination forms are available on the Government website here: or can be obtained from The Castle reception, the Customer Service Centre and the Public Library.

If more than one nomination is received, a Poll will be taken on Wednesday, 27 November, at the following Polling Stations:

  • Blue Hill Community Centre
  • Half Tree Hollow Community Centre
  • Harford Community Centre
  • St Mary’s Church, The Briars
  • Kingshurst Community Centre
  • Levelwood Clinic
  • Jamestown Community Centre
  • Sandy Bay Community Centre

The updated Register of Electors to be used in the Bye-election was published on Friday, 18 October 2019.

Only those persons with their name on this Register of Electors will be eligible to participate in the Bye-election, with those who are 21 years of age and over being able to stand for election.

Further information on becoming a Councillor will be issued in this week’s newspapers.

#StHelena #ByeElection2019 #WritOfElection

21 October 2019

St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470