From today, Monday 12 June 2017, a change has been implemented to where and when Small Unmanned Aircraft or SUAs (also known as Drones, UAVs, Quadcoptors, and model aircraft) can be flown on St Helena.

 In order to ensure the continued safety of the airspace over the Island, St Helena Airport has agreed with the Regulator – Air Safety Support International (ASSI) – that a SUA ‘No Fly Zone’ is now in force to the east of the Island.  This No Fly Zone encompasses the approach paths to the Airport and the airspace in the immediate vicinity of the Airport.  No SUA flights are permitted in the No Fly Zone at any time.

There is also a small No Fly Zone in the immediate vicinity of the Blue Hill VHF station – this is to ensure the continued safety of communications equipment vital to the safe operations of the Airport. Again, no SUAs may fly in the defined area at any time.

Additionally, a ‘Restricted Fly Zone’ is now in force for an area of the Island to the west of the SUA No Fly Zone but still in the area of St Helenian airspace controlled by St Helena Airport.  This area of airspace is called the ‘Control Zone’ (CTR).

No SUA flight may be conducted in the Restricted Fly Zone without prior permission from the Airport.  This applies to all SUAs, regardless of weight, size or whether a camera or other recording device is fitted.  Permission to fly will not normally be refused, but permission will not be granted on days when flights are scheduled or expected.

To request permission to fly in the Restricted Fly Zone, or for more information, please contact Head of Operations at St Helena Airport, Gwyneth Howell, on tel nos: 25175/ 25180/63131, or via email:

Attached to this press release is the Direction from ASSI which brings these changes into force.

#StHelena #StHelenaAirport #SUAs #NoFlyZone #RestrictedFlyZone #ControlZone #ASSI


12 June 2017




St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470