A Single Constituency

A Single Constituency

For previous elections on St Helena, the Island has been divided into two or more (eight until 2009) separate Constituencies, with a separate election held in each. This year, it will be different.

There will be just one election on Wednesday 17 July, to elect 12 Councillors to represent the whole Island. This means that the candidates’ names will all appear on one Ballot Paper.

Each voter will be able to select up to 12 candidates. But you do not have to use all 12 votes – you can just select your one favorite, or two or three – in fact any number up to 12. If you more than 12, the Ballot Paper will be invalid, and none of your votes will be counted.

More information about how to vote will be published after Nominations have closed, on Tuesday 2 July.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470
Email: communications@sainthelena.gov.sh