



THE MINISTERIAL SYSTEM OF GOVERNMENT

A General Election will be held on Wednesday 3 September 2025, if more than 12 valid nominations are received by no later than 12 noon on Nomination Day, Wednesday, 20 August 2025. This year's Election will be the second under a ministerial system of Government.

Leading up to the General Election we will provide regular information articles on how the Ministerial Government works.

This week's focus is on the Ministerial System.

The Ministerial System

The Ministerial System is the system of government for St Helena which was first introduced in 2021.

This is a form of government where executive power is exercised by a Chief Ministers and their Ministerial team, who are collectively responsible to the legislature and individually responsible for their respective government portfolios. This means that Ministers are individually accountable to Legislative Council for their own actions and the actions of their portfolios, and collectively responsible for the overall performance of the government.

Legislative Council

The system provides for 12 members of the public to be elected to form the Legislative Council (LegCo).

All 12 Elected Members of LegCo are voting members. The Attorney General is also a Member of LegCo but ex-officio and non-voting. The LegCo comprises also a Speaker and Deputy Speaker.

Chief Minister and Ministers

Following the General Election, LegCo will seek expressions of interest and elect, by secret ballot, a Chief Minister from amongst their number. The elected Chief Minister will then select four Elected Members from the remaining 11 LegCo members to serve as Ministers and will recommend to the Governor their appointment and the allocation among the Ministers, of the Treasury function and such other portfolios necessary to give each Minister responsibility for the different departments or functions of government. The Governor must follow the recommendation of the Chief Minister on these appointments. The Chief Minister will be responsible for any unallocated portfolios.

Once appointed, the Chief Minister and Ministers will together set out their vision and policies for their four-year term of office as one of the first priorities.

Ministers have direct political responsibility and accountability for all policies and services delivered by their portfolio. They are accountable to Legislative Council for the effective use of public funds spent in their portfolio.

Executive Council

The Chief Minister and their four Ministers, together with the Governor and Attorney General form the Executive Council (ExCo) – the highest decision making body within St Helena Government. ExCo meetings are chaired by the Governor, and the Attorney General is an ex-officio non-voting member of ExCo. The Chief Secretary and Financial Secretary attend all meetings of the Executive Council as policy advisers.

In our next issue we will look at the role of the Chief Minister. These Information Releases are also available online at:

https://www.sainthelena.gov.sh/government/public-information/elections/

SHG July 2025