

The St. Helena Government Gazette EXTRAORDINARY

Vol. LVII	Published by Authority	No.124.
Annual Subscription		Present Issue
£13.75 Post Free	9 November 2021	25p per copy

No. 233



Instrument, appointing the Chief Minister and Ministers.

WHEREAS it is provided in section 37 of the Constitution, set out in the Schedule to the St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Constitution Order 2009, that there shall be a Chief Minister of St Helena;

AND WHEREAS it is provided in section 37A(1) that the Chief Minister elect shall recommend to the Governor, for appointment as Ministers, four other elected members of the Legislative Council who have consented to the nomination;

AND WHEREAS it is provided in section 37C(1) that the Governor shall, by instrument under the public seal—

- (a) appoint as Chief Minister the elected Member of the Legislative Council elected to that office in accordance with section 37; and
- (b) appoint as Ministers the elected members of the Legislative Council recommended by the Chief Minister in accordance with section 37A(1).

NOW THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers vested in the Governor by section 37C(1) and (2) of the Constitution, I hereby make the following appointments specifying the portfolios allocated to the appointees:

- (a) Julie Dorne Thomas as Chief Minister
- (b) Mark Alan Brooks as Minister Treasury, Infrastructure and Sustainable Development Portfolio
- (c) Jeffrey Robert Ellick as Minister Safety, Security and Home Affairs Portfolio
- (d) Martin Dave Henry as Minister Health and Social Care Portfolio
- (e) Christine Lilian Scipio as Minister Environment, Natural Resources and Planning Portfolio

In accordance with section 37B(2) the Chief Minister has retained responsibility for the Education, Skills and Employment Portfolio.

Given under my hand and the public seal of St Helena at the Castle, St Helena, this 8th day of November 2021.

Philip Rushbrook Governor