

St Helena Government 11 February 2014



### 2014 BYE-ELECTION

## All you need to know about Nominating a Candidate for the 12 March Bye-Election

### **HEADLINES**

The last day and time for submitting Nominations is noon on Wednesday, 26 February 2014

All Nominations should be delivered within this time to the Returning Officer, Mrs Gillian Francis at the Castle.

# DON'T LEAVE IT UNTIL THE LAST MINUTE TO SUBMIT YOUR NOMINATION.

More information on making a Nomination can be found overleaf. Alternatively further details on nominating candidates and the Bye-Election can be obtained from Registration and Returning Officer Gillian Francis on telephone numbers 22470 or 22314 or via email:

deputychiefsec@sainthelena.gov.sh

#### Polling Day has been set for Wednesday, 12 March 2014

If more than one valid Nomination is received St Helena will go to the Polls.

Polling Stations are: Blue Hill Community Centre, Half Tree Hollow Community Centre, Harford Community Centre, Judges Lodge at Alarm Forest, Kingshurst Community Centre, Levelwood Community Centre, Jamestown Community Centre and Sandy Bay Community Centre.

St Helena needs another Councillor to fill the vacant seat on Legislative Council following the resignation of Tony Green in December 2013.

Anyone can stand for election if they are 21 years of age or over and on the Register of Electors published in an Extraordinary St Helena Government Gazette dated 7 February 2014.

Nomination Forms are available from Corporate Support at the Castle and the Assistant Registration Officers in the different districts around the Island. Assistant Registration Officers also hold copies of the Register of Electors to be used in the Bye-Election. Assistant Registration Officers are:

- Jamestown Robert Essex, Alicia Thomas, Olive Williams, Douglas Bennett
- Levelwood Ronald Coleman, Pamela Joshua
- **Longwood** Paula Moyce, Christina Henry
- Alarm Forest Jane Augustus, Brenda Thomas
- Half Tree Hollow Karen Yon, Michelle Yon, Connie Johnson
- St Paul's Alfreda Yon, Jackie Moyce
- Blue Hill Stedson Francis, Georgina Young
- Sandy Bay Alfred Isaac, Anita Legg.
- Ascension Island Gerrilyn Crowie





### 2014 BYE-ELECTION

## **Nominating a Candidate**

#### This paper provides you with information on how to nominate a candidate for the 12 March Bye- Election. Remember that the latest opportunity to submit Nominations is <u>noon on</u> <u>Wednesday, 26 February 2014.</u>

#### Who to Nominate

The Bye-Election is carried out in accordance with the law which states that anyone can stand for election providing:

- (1) they are on the Register of Electors and
- (2) they are over the age of 21 years.

Ideally candidates should have a genuine interest in the Island's affairs. St Helena Registration Officer, Gillian Francis explains:

"This is an exciting and interesting time in our history and Councillors have the opportunity to influence and guide policy changes and development to help ensure economic growth that will improve the quality of life for present and future generations."

#### How to Make a Nomination

The Nomination must be made on the correct Nomination Form. Forms can be obtained from the Returning Officer at the Castle or from any of the Assistant Registration Officers (See Page 1).

#### Sponsors

Each nominee must have two sponsors who must be on the Register of Electors dated 7 February 2014.

Each of the Sponsors' signatures must be witnessed either by the Returning Officer, an Assistant Returning Officer, or a Justice of the Peace (JP). The names of all JPs and Assistant Returning Officers can be found below:

A JP, Returning Officer (Gillian Francis) or Assistant Returning Officer must witness the signatures of the Sponsors. The JPs, and Assistant Returning Officers are:

#### JPs

Mr A E David Clarke MBE Mrs Greta Pat Musk MBE Mr Colin P Yon Miss Jennifer J Corker MBE Mrs Joan Patricia Flagg MBE Mr Douglas E Bennett Mr Harry B Legg OBE Mr Desmond H Wade Mrs Barbara A George Mr Ronald A Coleman Mr Vincent J March Mr Sidney A Youde Mr Harold E Horner Mrs Josephine E George Dr Priscilla McDaniel Mr John Cranfield

#### **Assistant Returning Officers**

Miss Gina Benjamin, Mr Desmond Wade, Mrs Carol George, Mr Robert Essex.

#### Supporters

Each nominee must also have five Supporters who must be on the Register of Electors dated 7 February 2014.

The signatures of the Supporters must be witnessed by anyone who has their name on the Register of Electors other than the candidate him or herself.

#### Where can the Sponsors and Supporters come from?

Sponsors and Supporters must be on the Register of Electors dated 7 February 2014. Potential candidates can ask people to be their Sponsors or Supporters. The Supporter cannot be the same person as a Sponsor.

#### **Only One Vacant Seat**

There is only one vacant seat on Legislative Council therefore Sponsors and Supporters cannot sponsor or support more than one candidate in this Bye-Election. By signing the Nomination form, each Sponsor and Supporter declares that he/she is not sponsoring or supporting more than one Candidate.

Similarly, by signing the Nomination form the Candidate declares that he/she is willing to stand for election.

#### **Checking the Nomination Form**

The Nomination form must contain all of the information listed in the Nomination Check Box (below). If you are unsure, contact the Returning Officer Gillian Francis on telephone 22470.

#### Nomination Check Box

Candidates should ensure that they have included all of the following when submitting their Nomination

- Full name and signature of the Candidate
- Full names and signatures of two Sponsors
- Names and signatures of the Sponsors are witnessed by the Returning Officer, an Assistant Returning Officer or a JP
- Full names and signatures of five Supporters
- Names and signatures of the Supporters are witnessed by anyone on the Register of Electors dated 7 February 2014.