Councils Committees

St Helena is governed within a democratic system where the people of St Helena elect members of the public to represent them in Legislative Council (LegCo).

There are 12 Councillors in LegCo representing the whole Island, who among themselves then elect five members to sit on Executive Council (ExCo) which advises the Governor in most areas of government policy.

To stand as a candidate for LegCo you must be over the age of 21 years and meet certain criteria (which can be viewed in the 2009 Constitution of St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha).

To vote in the Elections you must be aged 17 and over, registered on the Electoral Roll and also meet certain criteria (also found in the Constitution).

Three Ex official and non-elected members also sit on LegCo – the Chief Secretary, the Financial Secretary and the Attorney General.

Executive Council

Executive Council is the highest policy-making body on St Helena and consists of five Councillors from Legislative Council. They are Derek Thomas, Clint Beard, Lawson Henry, Russell Yon and Anthony Green.


There are six Council Committees:

There is also a further committee for Public Accounts:

 Conference Reports