Kalem Henry from Pilling Primary School is the proud winner of the 2018 Jean Beadon Art Competition.

The late Jean Beadon, a lady with a passion for art, lived on St Helena many years ago. She wanted to encourage children to develop their art skills, so she set up a Trust that would sponsor a Jean Beadon Art Competition every year. All Year 6 pupils in the Island’s three primary schools worked toward the Jean Beadon Art Competition during their Art lessons.

Judges, Joyce Duncan and Isha Harris, reported that all pupils did really well. The work produced was very creative, showing good use of colour. In some pieces the judges could see the study of different techniques being used well. Both judges are thanked for their support to the competition.

Picking up second place was Kiera Brown, with Allannah Krige taking third place, both from Harford Primary School.

The following pupils’ work was Highly Commended:

St Paul’s Primary School – Kaelyn Thomas, Katelyn Lawrence and Alayah Pidgley

Harford Primary School – Bianca Thomas

Pilling Primary School – Abbe Thomas, Nina Bennett and Ziara Thomas

Speaking to Kalem about this achievement, he said:

“For the whole week I wanted to know who the winner was. I had this feeling that the winner was from Pilling Primary School. My teacher already knew who the winner was, but she wouldn’t tell me. I was hoping that it was going to be me and when I heard my name I saw Miss George, my Art Teacher, jump up, so I jumped up too. I feel very proud to have won this competition.”

Art Teacher, Miss Sandra George, added:

“This was a proud moment for Kalem, myself, and our school, as it has been a while since Pilling won first place. It was nice to see the skills and techniques taught put into practice for him to finish top in this year’s competition.”

All pupils and their teachers are congratulated for their achievements in the 2018 Jean Beadon Art Competition.

#StHelena #Education #PrimarySchools #JeanBeadonArtCompetition



14 August 2018

St Helena Government Communications Hub

Telephone: 22470
Email: communications@sainthelena.gov.sh